Development Programmes

Player Development Programmes

Aiming to provide young players in the North East with supplementary coaching to that delivered at community clubs, the Under 12s and Under 14s Player Development Programme is completely open access and is based on the core principles of Embed the Pathway.

Affording access to the Thunder’s first team and academy coaching teams, the Player Development Programme aims to assist the development of:

 

  • Coachability – how do player behaviours and attitudes contribute to develop
  • Mental Attributes – introducing sports psychology to the young player
  • Game  – Technical and Tactical aspects specific to Rugby League
  • Movement – the ability of the young player to perform key movements with control and accuracy, vital for their physical literacy.

 

Under 12 Player Development Programme dates:

Saturday 10th Feb 2018

Saturday 10th March 2018

Saturday 14th April 2018

Saturday 12th May 2018

Saturday 9th June 2018

Saturday 14th July 2018

 

Under 14 Player Development Programme dates:

Saturday 3rd Feb 2018

Saturday 3rd March 2018

Saturday 7th April 2018

Saturday 5th May 2018

Saturday 2nd June 2018

Saturday 7th July 2018

There will also be 2 playing opportunities in September for those involved in the U14s PDP programme.

Players wishing to attend must register in advance by emailing adam.houston@newcastle-thunder.co.uk with the following information:

 

Name                            Date of Birth                              Community Club

School                          Player Tel No                             Player Email

Address                        Medical Requirements            Special Educational Needs (SEN)

Parents Name             Parents Tel No                          Parents Email