North East Awards Shortlist Revealed

Awards ceremony to be held at Kingston Park Stadium on 7th September


North East Rugby League has revealed the shortlist for this year’s annual celebration.


With 11 different categories covering players, coaches, volunteers and match officials, the gala awards dinner will take place at Kingston Park Stadium, the home of Newcastle Thunder on the evening of 7th September.


11 different clubs are recognised, with Catterick leading the way with 12 nominations, followed by Gateshead Storm with 11 and RFL Club of the Year, Cramlington Rockets with eight.


New additions to the shortlist this year include Alnwick Bears, a newly formed club in North Northumberland, and Edinburgh Eagles, whose first team took part in the North East Cup this season.


Amongst the other nominees, Yarm Wolves and Wallsend Eagles also feature, reflecting their respective recent cup wins, with Whitley Bay Barbarians, Durham Demons, Durham Tigers and Jarrow Vikings all also featuring.


“North East Rugby League continues to go from strength to strength and 2018 has been another brilliant year” said Newcastle Thunder General Manager, Jordan Robinson.


“The fact there are so many clubs recognised shows the breadth of quality across the region.


We have more and more children playing rugby league and the quality gets better ever season.


Since we started holding the awards, every event has been a sell out and we expect this one to be no different.


Kingston Park stadium is such a hub for rugby league in the local area and a lot of hard work has taken place on the pitch so it seems fitting everyone can let their hair down at the same venue and look back on another year of fantastic achievements.”

North East Rugby League Award Night Nominations in full


U12’s Player of the Year

Elijah Delaidriti – Catterick Crusaders

Osea Navuso – Catterick Crusaders

Lochlann Thomson – Cramlington Rockets

Louie Godfrey – Gateshead Storm

Riley Maitland – Gateshead Storm

Nathan Proctor – Whitley Bay Barbarians


U14’s Player of the Year

Ryan Crossley – Gateshead Storm

Ben Armstrong – Whitley Bay Barbarians

Jeremy Civil – Catterick Crusaders

Jordan Webster – Cramlington Rockets

Josh McDermott – Gateshead Storm

Finley Wilkinson – Cramlington Rockets


U16’s Player of the Year

Rupert Civil – Catterick Crusaders

Olly Bale – Catterick Crusaders

Aiden Simpson – Yarm Wolves

Henry Bowler – Yarm Wolves

Tyler Hepple – Gateshead Storm

Kieran Robins – Cramlington Rockets


Primary Rules Volunteer of the Year

Mark McCallan – Gateshead Storm

Gary Palmer – Yarm Wolves

Tracy Bowie – Alnwick Bears

Ian McKechnie – Catterick Crusaders

Aaron Mitchell – Cramlington Rockets


Spirit of the Community Award

Dave Bell – Jarrow Vikings

Michelle n Geoff Hurst – Gateshead Storm

Jason Grant – Catterick Crusaders

Rob Philips – Alnwick Bears

Alix Bowler – Yarm Wolves



Volunteer of the Year

Peter Lynn – Yarm Wolves

Rob Jones – Gateshead Storm

Rob Phillips – Alnwick Bears

Sarah Stephenson – Cramlington Rockets

Jayne Whitby – Catterick Crusaders


Match Official of the Year

Rhett Johnson

Richard Robinson

Scott Stanley

Jamie Hooper

Jordan Robinson


Junior Coach of the Year

Phil Stephenson – Cramlington Rockets U12’s

Phil Shaw – Yarm Wolves U16’s

Nigel Froggatt – Gateshead Storm U14’s

Steve O’Reilly – Catterick Crusaders U16’s

Rob Jones – Gateshead Storm U12’s


Men’s Coach of the Year

George Taylor – Jarrow Vikings

Jason Grant – Catterick Crusaders

Karl Stephenson – Durham Demons

Barry McGuffog – Edinburgh Eagles

Alan Stevenson – Wallsend Eagles

Jake Egglestone – Durham Tigers


Young Player of the Year

Adam Hay – Wallsend Eagles

James Cook – Durham Demons

Ryan Hull – Cramlington Rockets

Jack Ingles – Gateshead Storm

Callum Piert – Catterick Crusaders

Lucas Reid – Edinburgh Eagles


Player of the Year

Jimmy Baldwin – Wallsend Eagles

Luke Elliot – Durham Demons

Lewis Clarke – Edinburgh Eagles

Daniel Bonham – Catterick Crusaders

Lewis Boyle – Durham Tigers

Ben Dalton – Jarrow Vikings