North East rugby league sparkles at awards

Members of the North East rugby league community assembled at Kingston Park Stadium last Friday as Newcastle Thunder’s home ground played host to the annual North East Rugby League end of season awards.


An opportunity for all clubs in the region to celebrate another successful year, the night saw a total of 13 awards recognise the efforts of people from across the game.

Talented young players from the U12s to U16s were among the on-field awards, while there was also recognition bestowed upon match officials, coaches and volunteers who all combine to ensure games take place and the sport continues to grow in the area.

The headline awards saw Jarrow Vikings’George Taylor named Men’s Coach of the Year while Wallsend Eagles Liam Scott walked away as Player of the Year.

Reflecting on the evening, Newcastle Thunder club manager Jordan Robinson said: “It was a pleasure to host the North East Rugby League awards evening at Kingston Park and recognise all that is good about the sport in the region.

“It was great to see so many people from the community game come together and make what was an enjoyable night.”

North East Rugby League Award winners.

U12 Player of the Year – Jeremy Civil (Catterick Crusaders)

U14s Shield Player of the Year – Tyler Hepple (Gateshead Storm)

U16s Shield Player of the Year – Cole Potts (Catterick Crusaders)

Spirit of the Community Award – Steve Beaty Jnr (Cramlington Rockets)

Volunteer of the Year – Jason Grant (Catterick Crusaders)

Junior Match Official of the Year – Lewis Davey

Men’s Match Official of the Year – Adam Houston

Junior Coach of the Year – Jason Batey & Steve O’Reilly (Catterick Crusaders U14s)

Men’s Coach of the Year – George Taylor (Jarrow Vikings)

U14s Championship Player of the Year – Mark Roberts (Cramlington Rockets)

U16s Championship Player of the Year – Harry Cable (Cramlington Rockets) & Tyler Walton (Wallsend Eagles)

Young Player of the Year – Jonah McIntyre (Jarrow Vikings)

Player of the Year – Liam Scott (Wallsend Eagles)