MATCH REPORT – Whitehaven RLFC 12 – 8 Newcastle Thunder

A Jesse Joe Parker try 10 minutes from time was enough to allow Whitehaven to take the spoils in Sunday’s Betfred League 1 fixture in West Cumbria, as Newcastle Thunder came unstuck in tricky conditions at the Recreation Ground.

A tight game in which conditions played a key part, Thunder had fought back from an 8-0 deficit and were in the ascendency until the Papua New Guinean broke through the tackle to seal the win for the home side and would ultimately rue a litany of errors and penalties that prevented them from bringing home the points.

With the summer heat wave broken well and truly broken by plenty of wind and rain, Thunder started off well, enforcing two goal-line drop-outs in the opening minutes as well and an early attempt at goal, with pragmatism very much the watchword in the conditions.

Despite enjoying that early running, it was the home side that got the first score of the day as sliding winger Dave Thompson collected a kick through and make the most of one of Whitehaven’s most promising positions on the pitch.

Two penalties followed as Whitehaven extended their advantage to a two-score lead as Thunder missed opportunities for an opening score of their own before the visitors opened their account thanks to Lewis Young.

The four-pointer followed from kicks upfield by Adam Brook and Theerapol Ritson with Young winning the footrace for a try converted by the returning Remy Marginet.

With just two points separating the two sides at the break, a tense second half was in prospect and after levelling the scores following a penalty against the hosts in front of their posts, Thunder began to break ahead.

Frustratingly, it was a score they were unable to find and when Parker broke through for a run to the corner, the missed conversion proved inconsequential as the Cumbrians were able to hold Thunder at bay for the remainder of the game.

Newcastle Thunder

Theerapol Ritson, Mo Agoro, Ben Dent, Lewis Young, Ali Blair, Adam Brook, Remy Marginet, Liam McAvoy, Evan Simons, Jack Aldous, Rhys Clarke, Sam Luckley, Harry Aldous, Vincent Rennie, Conor Fitzsimmons, Ben Pointer, Ben Calland

Try Scorer – Young

Goal Scorers – Marginet x2


Jordan Burns, Danny Green, Chris Taylor, Jason Mossop, Dave Thompson, Callum Phillips, Stuart Howarth, Marc Shackley, Josh Eaves, James Tilley, Connor Holliday, Ellis Gillam, Carl Forster, Jessie Joe Parker, Dan Abram, Kris Coward, Scott McAvoy

Try Scorers – Thompson, Parker

Goal Scorers – Burns x2