Thunder 19 man squad for Skolars

Newcastle Thunder will be hoping third time is a charm this Saturday, as they look to kick off their 2018 Betfred League 1 season with a trip to London Skolars (KO 3pm)

Thunder have been thwarted in their attempts to start their league campaign so far this year, with the away trip to West Wales Raiders called off due to an issues with medical cover, before last Sunday’s home game against Keighley Cougars joined the weekend’s entire League 1 programme in falling afoul of the Beast from the East.

Naming a strong squad for his side’s first trip to the capital since 2016, Jason Payne will be keen for his side to keep up their good run of form against the Skolars, with Thunder having taken the victory in their last five League 1 match-ups.

Included in the squad is Castleford Tigers’ Tuoyo Egodo who comes into the team as Thunder make use of their dual registration terms with Daryl Powell’s squad for the first time.

Skolars themselves will be hopeful of building on a solid start to the season after earning a hard-fought point away at North Wales Crusaders in round one, with a 24 all draw.

Newcastle Thunder squad

v London Skolars

FROM – Mo Agoro, Jack Aldous, Harry Aldous, Ali Blair, Joe Brown, Ben Calland, Tuoyo Egodo, Conor Fitzsimmons, Ryan Lloyd, Sam Luckley, Liam McAvoy, Danny Nicklas, Aaron Ollett, Ben Pointer, Vincent Rennie, Theerapol Ritson, Tom Shaw, Evan Simons, Lewis Young,