Thunder announce inaugral reserves squad

Newcastle Thunder begin an exciting new chapter in the club’s development this Saturday, as it’s brand new reserve team takes on Warrington Wolves Reserves at Victoria Park (KO 12 Noon)

Relaunched for 2020, the new look Reserve Grade competition sees Thunder join with Bradford Bulls, London Broncos and Widnes Vikings alongside 10 Betfred Super League sides.

The 19-man side for Saturday’s first game sees head coach Simon Finnigan name a blend of first team regulars and academy starlets, with the game offering an opportunity to continue preparations for the Betfred League 1 season.

Sixteen of the players included are either graduates of the club’s academy system or current members of the U18s set up, with Harry Aldous, Sam Blake and Jake Lightowler those to have come from outside the area.

Scotland international Sam Luckley will look to get his first match minutes of the winter into the books having missed the clubs two senior friendlies this winter through illness, while youngsters Dan Coates, Sean Croston, Jed Charlton, Alex Donaghy, Ollie Gowing, Kieran Hudson, Isaac Nokes, Rory Nettleton and David Weetman will be keen to continue to press their case for further first team involvements.

Nathan Clemmitt, John Grey, Tyler Hepple, Lewis Howe, Isaac Nokes, and Ciaran Walker represent the club’s U18s cohort and Niall Sidney completes the line-up.